“I will never give up”: Doublelift's heartfelt message to Western League of Legends fans

Tweet Share Submit
“I will never give up”: Doublelift's heartfelt message to Western League of Legends fans
Image by Riot Games

Team Liquid were dealt a hard blow in the 2018 League of Legends World Championship as they were eliminated despite a commendable showing across the board. Their inability to overcome KT Rolster at least once, and EDward Gaming’s ability to do so, were the only factors in their demise as they had a 1:1 record against EDG, and as both teams had a 2:0 record against MAD Team.

The squad’s AD carry, Yiliang "Doublelift" Peng, was on a heartfelt broadcast interview with Eefje "Sjokz" Depoortere where he struggled (but succeeded) to keep his emotions in check considering the circumstances: although his team had beaten EDward Gaming, they did so out of pride, as they were already out of the tournament.

We transcribed one of his answers addressed to the fanbase, in full for your reading pleasure:

It’s good to have high expectations of the teams that you want to see succeed. It’s not acceptable that I go to Worlds every year as the first seed, that I shit the bed, that I never perform, and my team never makes it out of groups. It’s been eight years, and I can’t do this thing [qualifying past groups], but I will never give up.

Team Liquid are out of the tournament, and the World Championship group stage is still underway. Group D features Invictus Gaming, Fnatic, 100 Thieves and G-Rex, and it may play out in a more straightforward manner than Group C – where Team Liquid indirectly helped KT Rolster secure the top seed. Tune in Oct. 17 starting 10:00 CET / 1 a.m. PT / 17:00 KST for the live action on the Worlds hub!

Tweet Share Submit

Comments (0)

    C
Thoughts? Comments? Share it now!